The marker is located in Maeystown which is 8 miles west of Waterloo. The marker is just east of Zeitinger's Mill at the corner of Mill and Franklin Streets and just west of a scenic stone bridge.
Maeystown Preservation Society, Village Board, Civic Asso., Fire Department, Woman's Club, and The Illinois State Historical Society
Maeystown, where three streams descend the bluff, was founded by Jacob Maeys in 1852. The original settlers were German members of the Forty-Eighter Movement. The village is unique in manner with structures integrated into the landscape. The original stone church held services intermittently in German until 1943. Sixty significant buildings still exist, including Maeys' log house, the original church, the stone bridge, Zeitinger's Mill, and various outbuildings, barns and smokehouses made of limestone, brick, and wood. These buildings built in the mid to late 1800's form this quaint little village. Maeystown was designated as an Historic District in 1978.
Print marker information