The People's Building

The People's Building

The Illinois State Capitol is known as the people's building. The...

The People's Building

The People's Building

The Illinois State Capitol is known as the people's building. The July-August 2018 issue of Illinois Heritage is a special issue devoted to the building with three unique stories about the capitol. 
Protect your family history

Protect your family history

Make sure your efforts to preserve the past are not endangering it.

Protect your family history

Protect your family history

Make sure your efforts to preserve the past are not endangering it.
Illinois Constitution Day - August 26

Illinois Constitution Day - August...

On August 26, 1818, delegates to the constitutional convention meeting...

Illinois Constitution Day - August 26

Illinois Constitution Day - August 26

On August 26, 1818, delegates to the constitutional convention meeting at Kaskaskia, adopted a state constitution and selected Kaskaskia as the first state capital.


Today in history


John D. Campbell and James W. Carpenter, law partners in Polo, join Abraham Lincoln and Zenas Aplington in a drive by carriage to Oregon, Ogle County Seat. There Lincoln and "Long John" Wentworth, six-term Congressman and later Mayor of Chicago, were amo

View all days in history...

ISHS picture

Historical Markers

Since 1934, the Illinois State Historical Society has erected more than 500 historical markers statewide. Subjects of historical significance to Illinois are co-sponsored by local organizations and supporters. The Illinois State Historical Society coordinates the placement and management of historical markers throughout the state.

More Info...

Submit your Bicentennial event

Do you have an exciting local history news story or an event that you would like to share? Use this form to submit it and after a quick review it will be added to our news roll or events calendar. There is even a special category for Bicentennial events. The goal is to add news and events from all over the state to celebrate Illinois’ rich history. Get involved and get the word out about news and events in your area.

Latest News

Making history

  • 24 April 2017
  • Author: William Furry
  • Number of views: 1154
The 2017 Annual Illinois History Awards were presented on Saturday, April 22 in conjunction with the closing ceremonies of the Illinois State Historical Society’s annual Illinois History Symposium, “1917, Year of Turmoil: War and Suffrage.” The Symposium and annual Awards Luncheon were held in the Trutter Center on the beautiful campus of Lincoln Land Community College in Springfield.
    More than twenty-five scholars, exhibitors, researchers, and history educators were on hand to take home awards. Among the awards presented were four special awards, included the ISHS “Lifetime Achievement Award,” awarded this year to Elaine E. Egdorf of Homewood. Egdorf’s accomplishments in south suburban Illinois neighborhoods are legion. She is the founder and co-president of the South Suburban Heritage Corridor, the founder of the Homewood Historical Society (serving ten consecutive terms), and was been instrumental in crafting the Homewood Preservation Ordinance, which helped save the Dorband-Howe historic home in Homewood, now headquarters for the Homewood Historical Society. In addition, Egdorf has received duals and institutions who make our Prairie State history come alive for the millions dozens of awards for her work with the Girl Scouts and other youth-center groups, and she has served on the board or executive board of the ISHS for more than 15 years.  
Anna Sielaff of Lincoln received the $1,000 Verna Ross Orndorff scholarship for her Civil War related essay “Influences of Transcendental Thought on Abraham Lincoln’s Greatest Address: The Gettysburg Address”; and Mark McBride, a social studies teacher at the Tri Valley High School in Downs, Illinois, received the Society’s Olive Foster “Teacher of the Year” award ($1,000) for his work integrating local history into his social studies lesson plans.  In addition, Chicago-based Joseph Gustaitis, author of Chicago Transformed: World War I and the Windy City, received the Society’s Russell P. Strange “Book of the Year” award and a check for $400.
 “It is an honor and a privilege to recognize the work of these individuals and institutions, who selflessly share their passion for our Prairie State history, all to the benefit of people who hunger for knowledge of our collective past,” said ISHS president Leah Axelrod of Highland Park. “Congratulations and best wishes to all on your future projects.” 

The 2017 Annual Award Winners are: Scholarly Publications 

Dealmakers of Downstate Illinois, by Robert Hartley, Published 2016 by Southern Illinois University Press. “This book draws attention to the relationships among three prominent politicians from southern Illinois: Paul Powell, Clyde Choate, and John Stelle. The author—a newspaperman, not a historian-- used a wide variety of sources including manuscript collections, legislative records, contemporary newspaper accounts, and personal interviews with those who knew and worked with the dealmakers. In addition, there is an excellent list of reference, pointing to additional research.” 

 Pembroke: A Rural Black Community of the Illinois Dunes, by Dave Baron, published 2016 by Southern Illinois University Press.“The blur on the back of this book notes that it is part social, cultural, legal, environmental, and political history and part memoir. Though not a history book in the scholarly sense, it is nevertheless unique, insightful, informative, and, at times very, moving. Mr. Baron interwines wide-reaching history, astute obse


View article archives

Upcoming events Events RSSiCalendar export


Add Article

Please do not use this button to submit or follow-up on submissions for the Illinois Heritage or Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society. Instead visit the links below for the correct submission information.

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2018 by Illinois State Historical Society
Back To Top