Thursday, October 18, 2018


Alexander Hesler's Abraham Lincoln Portrait Arrives in Gallatin County

2015 ISHS Annual Awards Best in Illinois history awards to be presented at Old S...

Shaggy 0 1 Article rating: No rating
2015 ISHS Annual Awards
Best in Illinois history awards to be presented at Old State Capitol

On Saturday, April 25, the Illinois State Historical Society hosts its 116th annual meeting and presents its “best of the best” Illinois history awards to individuals, organizations, publishers, and exhibitors around the state.

The event will be held at the historic Old State Capitol in Springfield, with a luncheon served in Foundation Hall and the awards presented afterward in the House of Representative Chambers.

“What an incredible assortment of nominations,” said ISHS Executive Director William Furry, noting that this year’s entries represented the depth and breadth of Prairie State history. “The anniversaries of the Eastland disaster, World War I, and numerous other commemorations have inspired the historical community to retell our state’s stories, and these reflections have rewarded us all with outstanding projects.”

Among the presentations are four “Lifetime Achievement” awards honoring the work of citizen/historians who have made significant contributions to their communities and to the state. Receiving Lifetime Achievement” awards were R. Eden Martin of Chicago, Illinois; Kathryn Harris of Springfield; William Daniel Wilson of Albers; and Mark Sorensen of Decatur.

The Society will also recognize Debra Liu as this year’s Olive Foster Teacher of Year. Ms. Liu, a social studies teacher for 18 years at Solomon School in Chicago, has been a participant in the Chicago and Illinois history fairs for 14 years, and continues to engage her students in historical enquiry and to enrich social studies programs at all levels. ($1,000 cash prize.)

The 2015 winner of the Verna Ross Orndorff Illinois history scholarship is Jessica Winter of Mowequa, a student at Pana High School, for her essay “Abraham Lincoln: A Congressman of the Prairie State” ($1000 scholarship).

The 2015 Harry E. Pratt Award for outstanding article printed in the 2014 Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society will be presented to Suellen Hoy for her article “Chicago Working Women’s Struggle for a Shorter Day, 1908-1911” ($400 prize.)

The 2015 Malkovich Award for Young Museum Professional is destined for Anne Moseley, Assistant Director of the Lincoln Heritage Museum in Lincoln, Illinois. (This prize comes with a stipend to attend a professional museum conference in the Midwest).

2015 Annual Awards

Nominee: Clint Cargile, Five-Mile Spur Line: A Railroad History of Sycamore, Illinois
Category: Publications Scholarly
Nominator: Sue Breeze
Award: Certificate of Excellence
“125+ years ago, DeKalb and Sycamore were locked in a heated race over which town would bring the first rail service to the county. When DeKalb secured the first railroad, Sycamore’s town leaders built their own five-mile spur line to connect their town to the main line at Corland, linking Sycamore to Chicago. Clint Cargile’s history of the Five-Mile Spur Line puts the Sycamore spur into its historical context, and shares the stories of how the railroad touched everyday life in and around Sycamore. This is good, solid local history.”

Nominee: Earl Halbe, A Question of Loyalty.
Nominated by Steve Thompson.
Category: Special project/Play.
Award: Certificate of Excellence
“Creating, compelling approach to a complex local history topic, with great juxtaposition of loyalty to country vs. loyalty to a lover. Such productions are immensely important, offering local history enthusiasts an opportunity to revisit significant events in regional history and bringing new and insightful interpretations into the public discussion. Overall, this is an excellent community effort to tell a little known- story in Illinois history, and it deserves recognition for awakening interest in the Charleston Riot.”

Small Museum Conference in Dixon on May 2 Here is a great opportunity to meet w...

Shaggy 0 0 Article rating: No rating
Small Museum Conference in Dixon on May 2

Here is a great opportunity to meet with colleagues and learn something at the same time. The Lee County Small Museum Conference will be May 2 in Dixon. Sessions will address taking care of collections, including ethnographic collections, books, paper, and photographs. There will be information on organizing images and getting a handle on the five core
documents all museums should have: mission statement, ethics code, collections policy, strategic plan, and disaster plan.
The meeting will run from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m, with lunch included, all for $25.00. For more information,

Lee County Historical & Genealogical Society
Welcome Lee County Small Museum Conference Saturday, May 2, 2015 at the Loveland Community House & Museum 513 West 2nd St., Dixon, Illinois, 61021 Presented By The Lee County Historical & Genealogical SocietySpeakers: Nicolette Meister – Care and Management of Ethnographic Collection Nicolette is th…

ISHS President Russell Lewis and ISHS Director Robyn Williams met serendipitousl...

Shaggy 0 845 Article rating: No rating
ISHS President Russell Lewis and ISHS Director Robyn Williams met serendipitously on Tuesday night in Washington, D.C., during the candlelight vigil outside of Ford's Theatre, on the 150th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln's assassination. According to Director Williams, the ceremonies, eulogies, and official commemorations around the anniversary were "amazing," ending the following morning, April 15, with bell-ringing, bagpipes, and silence.

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2018 by Illinois State Historical Society
Back To Top