Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual for sustained and varied contributions through the collection, preservation, and/or interpretation of an aspect of Illinois history. The winner(s) will be announced at the ISHS Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet. Winners receive a handsome statuette of Abraham Lincoln.

Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award can be made by completing and submitting four (4) copies of the nomination form with four(4) copies of supporting materials to: ISHS Awards, Illinois State Historical Society, PO Box 1800, Springfield, IL, 62705-1800. Nominations must be postmarked by November 30 of every year.

For more information, please call 217-525-2781 or email

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

  • Mary Barringer of Springfield, has been a genealogist, cemetery plotter and researcher for most of her adult life, seeking out and identifying the graves of central Illinois veterans who fought in the American Revolution, the War of 1812, and the Black Hawk War.
  • Larry McClellan of Crete has been researching and writing about stations on the Underground Railroad in northeastern Illinois for decades, and has helped tell the story of Freedom Seekers, earning him a nomination.
  • Dr. Mark Wyman of Bloomington-Normal taught history at Illinois State University to hundreds of students, served on numerous local history boards and citizens advisory panels and, since retiring has found new ways to raise community awareness about the twin cities and their Jim Crow past. His work sets a standard for other communities to come to terms with their segregation history.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

  • 2021: Charlotte E. Johnson, Alton
  • 2020: Ann Darrow, Waukegan
  • 2020: Janice Petterchak, Rochester
  • 2020: Roland Harris, Edwardsville
  • 2020: Marcie D. Young, Bloomington
  • 2019: Charlotte K. Renehan, Grayslake
  • 2019: Russell Lewis, Chicago
  • 2018: John E. Hallwas, Macomb
  • 2018: William Iseminger, Collinsville
  • 2018: David W. Scott, Springfield
  • 2017: Elaine E. Egdorf, Homewood
  • 2016: Suzanne Dietrich, Edwardsville
  • 2016: Leah Axelrod, Highland Park
  • 2016: Michael Batinski, Carbondale
  • 2016: Rand Burnette, Jacksonville
  • 2016: Patricia Burnette, Jacksonville
  • 2016: Stuart Fliege, Springfield
  • 2015: R. Eden Martin, Willmette
  • 2015: Kathryn Harris, Springfield
  • 2015: William Daniel Wilson, Albers
  • 2015: Mark Sorensen, Decatur
  • 2015: Gillum Ferguson, Springfield
  • 2014: Richard E. Hart, Springfield
  • 2014: David A Dickman, Wilmette
  • 2014: Rodney O. Davis, Galesburg
  • 2014: Douglas L. Wilson, Galesburg
  • 2014: David Spadafora, Chicago
  • 2013: Linda Hileman, Jonesboro
  • 2013: Richard Hileman, Jonesboro
  • 2013: John Weck, Springfield
  • 2013: Redd Griffin, Oak Park
  • 2012: Dr. Wayne C. Temple, Springfield
  • 2012: Dr. Joseph Weber, Edwardsville
  • 2012: Franklin DeLaine Donaldson, Effingham
  • 2012: Diana Dretske, Wauconda
  • 2011: Alberta Adamson, Wheaton
  • 2010: Jennie Battles, Petersburg
  • 2010: Dr. Robert McColley, Urbana
  • 2009: Preston Michael Jones, Murphysboro
  • 2009: Wolf D. Fuhrig, Jacksonville
  • 2008: Robert Swenson, Carbondale
  • 2006: Patricia Miller, Champaign
  • 2006: Captain James A. Lowell, Lake Forest
  • 2005: Dr. Margaret Burroughs, Chicago
  • 2004: John H. Johnson, Chicago


Illinois State Historical Society   |   Strawbridge-Shepherd House   |   PO Box 1800   |   Springfield, IL 62705-1800

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2023 by Illinois State Historical Society
Back To Top