Sunday, October 24, 2021


Marker Details

Historical Marker:

Mount Pulaski Court House

Image Courtesy of Elaine Shemoney Evans
The marker is located at 113 South Washington Street, Mount Pulaski, Illinois.
Dedication Date:
Dedication By:
The Illinois Department of Conservation and the Illinois State Historical Society

Marker Description:
Mount Pulaski served as the seat of Logan County from 1848 to 1853. The first county court was at Postville, now part of Lincoln, Illinois. In 1848, Logan County voters approved the removal of the court from Postville to Mount Pulaski. Local citizens raised $2,700 toward the construction of this building. Among those attending court here were Abraham Lincoln, Stephen Douglas, Lyman Trumbull, and David Davis. In 1853, the County Seat was moved by legislation to Lincoln. The Mount Pulaski Court House was then used as a school house, later as the City Hall, and, finally, as the Post Office. The State of Illinois acquired the building in 1936.

Print marker information

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2021 by Illinois State Historical Society
Back To Top