David Haeger School and Cemetery
Image Courtesy of Karen Kruse
The marker is located in Barrington Hills at the intersection of Spring Creek Road and Meadow Hill Road.
The Haeger-Estes-Zachrich Family, The Barrington History Museum and The Illinois State Historical Society
This former school, now a residence, and cemetery were named for the David Haeger family, from Germany, who settled in this part of McHenry County. This area was the boyhood home of David Henry Haeger, the eldest son of the Haeger children, who founded the world renowned decorative pottery business in 1871, still in operation today. Prior to the pottery production, Haeger manufactured unique bricks that supplied Chicago with a vast inventory to help rebuild the city after the great fire of 1871.
The original school was on the Haeger farm directly north across spring creek road, where meadow hill road ends. As student enrollment increased, a separate building was needed and constructed on the cemetery grounds in the 1860's. This frame one-room schoolhouse also served as a community meeting hall and church. Haeger School closed in 1941, as well as other one-room schools in Barrington; most were consolidated into countryside school on Lake Cook road.
The adjoining Haeger Cemetery was dedicated by deed in 1854. Some burials took place prior to that time with the oldest headstone dating back to 1842. Four members of the David Haeger family are at rest here along with other early settlers of the region. The cemetery has been closed to burials for over 100 years; the latest headstone is dated 1894.
The Barrington Hills comprehensive plan designates this site as a significant historic feature of the village.
Print marker information