Sunday, September 27, 2020


2020 Mary and James Beaumont Endowed Lincoln Legacy Lecture Series: Lincoln and the American Political Tradition

Event date: 10/14/2020 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM Export event
Elaine Evans
/ Categories: Events

2020 Mary and James Beaumont Endowed Lincoln Legacy Lecture Series: Lincoln and the American Political Tradition

University of Illinois Springfield Center for Lincoln Studies

The 2020 Beaumont Endowed Lincoln Legacy Lecture will focus on Lincoln and the American Political Tradition with professors Lucas Morel and Diana J. Schaub, experts in the field. Both scholars will discuss Lincoln’s admiration for the American Founding, and Dr. Michael Burlingame will moderate and provide an overview. This topic is not only timely in our national discussion but also provides a historical perspective on the importance on the foundation of democracy.

Wednesday, October 14, 2020, 7-9 p.m.

Dr. Lucas Morel
Lucas Morel is a Senior Fellow of the Claremont Institute and Head of the Politics Department at Washington and Lee University. Dr. Morel earned a B.A. in government from Claremont McKenna College, and a M.A. and Ph.D. in government from Claremont Graduate School. Before W&L, he taught at John Brown University. His teaching and research interests are American government, political theory, Abraham Lincoln and black American politics. He is a board member of the Abraham Lincoln Institute and Abraham Lincoln Association and trustee of the Supreme Court Historical Society. He was the Garwood Visiting Research Fellow at the James Madison Program in American Ideals and Institutions at Princeton University. He also teaches in the Summer Master’s Program in American History and Government at Ashland University in Ohio. He has written for the "Los Angeles Times," "Christian Science Monitor," and "Richmond Times-Dispatch," and recently completed a book titled "Lincoln and the American Founding.”

Dr. Diana J. Schaub
Diana Schaub is professor of political science at Loyola University Maryland. She received both her M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. She teaches and writes on a wide range of issues in political philosophy and American political thought. Schaub was also a member of The President's Council on Bioethics. She began her career as an assistant managing editor for the conservative magazine, The National Interest in 1985. She then served as a professor of political science at the University of Michigan-Dearborn. In 2003–2005, while serving as a professor at Loyola College, Schaub taught at a series of lectures and seminars designed for high school teachers, held at Ashland University. The conference was titled, “Race and Rights in American History” and was funded by a Teaching American History grant from the U.S. Department of Education. From 2001–2007 Schaub served as the chair of the political science department at Loyola College.

Dr. Michael Burlingame
Michael Burlingame, holder of the Chancellor Naomi B. Lynn Distinguished Chair in Lincoln Studies at University of Illinois Springfield, is the author of Abraham Lincoln: A Life, The Inner World of Abraham Lincoln, and Lincoln and the Civil War, as well as the editor of many collections of Lincoln primary source materials. A graduate of Princeton University and Johns Hopkins University, he taught at Connecticut College in New London for many years before joining the faculty at University of Illinois Springfield in 2009. That year, The Atlantic rated Abraham Lincoln: A Life one of the five best books of the year, and in the New York Review of Books, the dean of Civil War historians, James McPherson, wrote that Burlingame “knows more about Lincoln than any other living person.”

This live webcast is free and open to the public, however, registration is required. Please register here. If you have questions, please call 217-206-8663.

Previous Article **CANCELLED** 2020 Best of Illinois History Awards Gala
Next Article 2020 Best of Illinois History Awards
273 Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2020 by Illinois State Historical Society
Back To Top