Friday, April 23, 2021


The University of Illinois Springfield invites you to its 50th Anniversary Celebration

Event date: 4/22/2021 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM Export event
Elaine Evans
/ Categories: Events

The University of Illinois Springfield invites you to its 50th Anniversary Celebration

University of Illinois Springfield

Join us (via Zoom) as we celebrate the University's 50th year and honor our distinguished award recipients.

Register early to receive a limited edition goodie box mailed to your home. Limit one box per household.

Register here.

Questions? Call 217-206-6058 or email

University of Illinois Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Naomi B. Lynn, Chancellor Emerita

Naomi exemplifies distinguished service to the University of Illinois. The depth, consistency and continuum of Naomi’s leadership as a university administrator, trailblazer, community leader and volunteer has significantly impacted the welfare and advancement of the institutional mission. She is a champion of women’s rights, and leader and mentor for women and minorities in academia and the larger community.

As president of Sangamon State University, Naomi became the first Hispanic president or chancellor of a public state university in Illinois and the first female president of SSU. “It was important to break barriers,” Naomi said. “I live for the day when no woman will have to be introduced as the first.”

Naomi skillfully led the transition of SSU to UIS, positioning the university for growth in enrollment, on-campus residential life, infrastructure, online education and international academic agreements. Naomi retired as Chancellor in 2001.

Naomi is a past recipient of the U of I Loyalty Award for Exceptional Alumni Service. In 2012, Governor Pat Quinn presented Lynn with the Order of Lincoln, the state’s top honor.

University of Illinois Alumni Achievement Award
Robert Moore, '80, MPA '85 PAA

Robert has achieved outstanding success and national distinction in his profession and life’s work. Over a career spanning nearly 50 years, he has become a distinguished and nationally recognized leader in law enforcement, facilitator of community policing initiatives and historical research of African Americans in law enforcement.

He played a pivotal role in diversifying the Illinois State Police to include more minorities and females. Robert was later appointed by President William Jefferson Clinton as U.S. Marshal for the central district of Illinois. He also served as deputy chief of police for Savannah, GA, and chief of police for Jackson, MS.

Robert authored the book The Presidents’ Men: Black United States Marshals in America, which led to a traveling exhibit that tours colleges throughout the U.S. “I don’t allow myself to get frustrated,” Robert said. “I can’t afford to get bogged down in what has not happened. I focus on what I have been able to do to bring things forward.”

He is a past recipient of Rotary International’s Paul Harris Fellow Award, the FBI’s Directors Community Leadership Award, and the University of Illinois Alumni Humanitarian Award.


240 Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2021 by Illinois State Historical Society
Back To Top